This [Crazy] Crafty Mama Creates

Join me in creating…in the midst of chaos!

Picking Pretty Papers

Yes, I am a HitchHiker but not the kind you’re thinking of! I have recently really gotten into Shimelle Laine (aka Glitter Girl) and her amazing way of scrapbooking. She offers weekly videos as well as classes, one of which I had to take.

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to Scrapbooking is perfect for those of us who feel slightly overwhelmed with the plethora of papers, supplies and photos that we seem to collect. In this class she takes her pupils through the ins and out of choosing papers & supplies, designing pages, adding journaling & embellishments…you know, the basics!

Chapter One: Picking Pretty Papers

and here is my result…

At first I was baffled as to how I was going to choose the papers to scrapbook this photo. Let me give you the background on this photo…

Obviously I’m quite pregnant here, this is baby #2 {our only son}, taken at about 37 weeks way back in 2008. I didn’t want to use the original photo because I have high hopes of framing it so I scanned it, unfortunately the color didn’t come out as I was hoping but I still wanted to put it in the little guy’s album.

I picked the base 12″x12″ paper from my DCWV Luxury stack but I really couldn’t find any other papers in the stack that seemed to gel with the photo or the base cardstock. So I flipped through my other packs and stacks of paper and ended up with a couple blues,  a tan/brown paper with baby-inspired words and the pretty reddish floral from Colorbok’s Flea Market papers. I have been completely fixated on my Flea Market papers and punch-outs lately so I decided to just stick with that grouping for this layout. I grabbed a border punch-out {the scalloped & glittery light turquoise piece}, a brown measuring tape fabric sticker, a couple bird punch-outs and a journaling card {that I altered}.

So in essence, I went with a collection {Colorbok Flea Market} and balanced things out with a few other papers and embellishments not from the collection but that still went nicely with what I had chosen.

Next up: Starting Points

One comment on “Picking Pretty Papers

  1. Pingback: [Free] Reddish Green Digital Paper Pack « Pixeled Paper

Leave a Reply

