This [Crazy] Crafty Mama Creates

Join me in creating…in the midst of chaos!

Memory Keeping Monday: The Next Sole Baby

It’s finished!

The first of a two-page belly pic layout

I only started this a couple days ago but if feels like it took forever {probably because I would sit and think about it more than I actually took time to put it together}!

I wanted to do some type of grid layout since I have 10 belly pics. I tried fitting them all on one 12″x12″ page but it just looked too busy so I divided the pictures up. I was initially using this layout as an inspiration:

Wilna’s Weekly Challenge…Be Inspired by…(3/02/12)

First, I machine sewed the patterned paper squares {later I distressed them and curled the edges}. I was trying to replicate a Polaroid photo with the mats but it looked a bit odd so I used a round corner punch to punch the opposite corners.

I attached the photos loosely so that I could add layers underneath them later. Next I cut out the layers from coordinating papers in my Colorbok Flea Market pack. I wanted to add a bit of punch so I chose the dark rose patterned paper to layer under the top right and bottom left photos, then I chose the scallop circle chipboard embellishment in the same color {I punched the original circle out and added a new one with foam adhesive on top of a foam adhesive-backed cardstock circle…double layers of foam adhesive!}. I thought the numbers would be a good addition and a subtle way of illustrating the pregnancy month of the belly shots and I punched the “2” with the ek Success binding edge edger punch. I added a couple strips of my diy washi tape on top of the “2”.

I cut out {or punched} and distressed my little bird embellishments {once again, I had cut these out from the Flea Market paper}. I added foam adhesive to the back of both birds and topped the brown bird with Inkssentials Glossy Accents. I picked out & distressed my chipboard title letters and backed them with foam adhesive. I cut out to arrows from patterned paper in hopes of leading the eye to the 2nd page of my layout and stuck them on either side of the middle photo.

I then cut the ends off a large glitter punch-out embellishment from the Colorbok Flea Market Glitter Punch-Out Pad and used those for the tags on the top left and bottom right photos.

As a final add-on I tied on a cute multi-colored ribbon by American Crafts to a paper clip and snipped the ends.

When all was said and done I noticed that the 12″x12″ cardstock that I used was definitely not kraft cardstock and it definitely wasn’t 12″x12″! I was a bit peeved…I trimmed it just a bit on all sides and attached it to a piece of pink canvas-type cardstock and called it good. Now on to the next layout!

2 comments on “Memory Keeping Monday: The Next Sole Baby

  1. Pingback: Page Layout: The Next Sole Baby {part 2} « This [Crazy] Crafty Mama Creates

  2. Pingback: Picking Pretty Papers « This [Crazy] Crafty Mama Creates

Leave a Reply

